Wallan Community & Region


Welcome to Wallan

Wallan, also known as Wallan Wallan is a town located in the southern end of Mitchell Shire, which extends from the northern parts of Melbourne into the farming country of north-central Victoria and the lower Goulburn Valley. This is approximately 50 km from Melbourne CBD on the Northern Highway in Australia. Wallan has now well and truly been integrated with Greater Melbourne, stretching as the most northern suburb outpost.

Wallan is set against the backdrop of the Great Dividing Range. Indeed, the entire region is famous for its scenic beauty; characterised by rolling hills, lush forests, majestic rivers and lakes, rural plains and of course the great Goulburn River. It has fast grown into a popular destination for living, holidaying and day trips out of Melbourne or surrounding towns, with major attractions such as award winning and picturesque wineries, micro breweries, historic pubs, parks, romantic hideaways, farming land and traditional houses, as well as many events and festivals. Wallan and the region is also close by to other major sites such as Hanging Rock, Macedon ranges, Yarra Valley, and Ned Kelly’s residence.

Locality of Mitchell Shire

The southern boundary of the Mitchell Shire is located approximately 30 km from the centre of Melbourne city, with its northern boundary at around 90 km.

The Shire covers a total area of 2,864 sq kms and adjoins the following municipalities:

  • City of Hume and the City of Whittlesea to the south
  • Murrindindi Shire to the east
  • Macedon Ranges Shire to the west
  • City of Greater Bendigo and Strathbogie Shire to the north.


The Shire is strategically located as the first municipality north of the Melbourne metropolitan boundary on the nationally significant transport links between Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.

Townships of Mitchell Shire: The Mitchell Shire includes the towns of Beveridge, Broadford, Heathcote Junction, Kilmore, Puckapunyal, Pyalong, Seymour, Tallarook, Tooborac, Wallan and Wandong.

These are also the main areas Jolly Jacks Jumping Castles service with FREE delivery. Together with other nearby councils in Melbourne’s northern councils and suburbs, including:

City of Whittlesea: Bundoora, Doreen, Laurimar, Eden Park, Epping, Epping North, Lalor, Mernda, Mill Park, South Morang, Thomastown, Wollert, Woodstock, Yan Yean, Whittlesea, Upper Plenty

City of Darebin: Alphington, Bundoora, Mt Cooper, Fairfield, Kingsbury, Macleod, Northcote, Westgarth, Preston, Regent, Reservoir, Regent, and Thornbury

City of Hume: Attwood, Broadmeadows, Bulla, Campbellfield, Clarkefield, Coolaroo, Craigieburn, Dallas, Gladstone Park, Greenvale, Jacana, Kalkallo, Keilor, Meadow Heights, Melbourne Airport, Mickleham, Konagaderra Springs, Oaklands Junction, Oaklands Park, Roxburgh Park, Somerton, Sunbury, Jacksons Hill, Goonawarra, Tullamarine, Westmeadows, Wildwood, Yuroke

City of Banyule: Bellfield, Briar Hill, Bundoora, Eaglemont, Eltham North, Greensborough, Heidelberg, Heidelberg Heights, Heidelberg West, Ivanhoe, Ivanhoe East, Lower Plenty, Macleod, Macleod West, Montmorency, Rosanna, St, Helena, Viewbank, Watsonia, Watsonia North, Yallambie

City of Moreland: Brunswick, Brunswick East, Brunswick West, Moonee Vale, Coburg, Coburg North, Merlynston, Newlands, Fawkner, Glenroy, Westbreen, Gowanbrae, Hadfield, Oak Park, Pascoe Vale, Pascoe Vale South, Coonans Hill, Tullamarine

Visit the Mitchell Shire Council official website